What will SQE1 assess?

  • Raphael Jucobin
  • Wednesday 06th January
  • 1 min read

The set of exams that comprise the SQE1, the first half of the new Solicitors Qualifying Examination which you’ll need to pass to move on to SQE2, cover a variety of legal topics and practice areas.

These are collectively known as Functioning Legal Knowledge, and for those who have studied a law degree this will have been covered in the modules that make up the Qualifying Law Degree. It refers to the level of knowledge that solicitors who are starting out will be expected to have once they qualify.

First assessment

The SQE1 tests will be made up of multiple choice questions as part of a written exam, and cover the following subjects in the first assessment:

  • Business law and practice
  • Dispute resolution
  • Contract
  • Tort
  • The legal system

Second assessment

In the second assessment, the following areas will be covered:

  • Property practice
  • Wills and the administration of estates
  • Solicitors accounts
  • Land law
  • Trusts
  • Criminal law and practice

In addition to these aspects of technical knowledge, candidates are expected to show an awareness of professional ethics and conduct, as these will be assessed throughout the tests as well. As a result, it would be a good idea to take a look at the SRA’s code of conduct, which is a part of their standards and regulations.

Scroll to top